Stalking Jack the Ripper- Kerri Maniscalco

( Warning some Spoilers!)

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered worldc3qwncxuoae0uei1

.

 

  Stalking Jack the Ripper got my attention one day at Barnes and Noble. The story of Jack the Ripper had always interested me,  so I was pretty hyped to check this novel out. First off the cover is just gorgeous! The setting of this story quickly caught my attention. I enjoyed the characters and each role they played within the story. Audrey Rose is a young woman living within a time when girls her age are expected to be proper and modest. Two words that clearly do not represent her. Audrey spends her life caring for the dead, figuring out how they died. She works along side her bizarre uncle and a charming boy she grows fond of. She’s passionate to find out who the infamous killer is.

The title of this book is Stalking Jack the Ripper which is kind of misleading. Jack the Ripper is sort of left out until the rising action occurs. On the other hand, I was pleased by this story. Victorian, London is explained very well. Such a cold and unbearable era with so much poverty. The gruesome description of human body parts kept me eager to read more.  The history of the events during Jack’s infamous terror was fascinating. I find it puzzling how he got away with each murder. Still to this day no one knows for sure who Jack the Ripper really was. I cannot imagine how terrified people must had been in his day. Audrey is a clever character whose actions and curiosity control the novel very well. Her personality was charming.

 She’s  annoyed by the way society treats her gender. Women in her time were sadly used as trophies. Many women were forced into prostitution to survive.  She overcomes judgement and seem like a pretty solid female protagonist in my view. When we find out that her brother is Jack the Ripper I was a little let down, because I assumed it was him earlier on. Still the death of her brother left me depressed. Such a dysfunctional family.  To me the ending was left open, so I’m hopeful this novel is not a standalone.

I give Stalking Jack the Ripper 4 and half stars out of 5. If you have read this novel or plan to let me know what you thought. Also have any guesses on who Jack the Ripper really was let me know.

 

One thought on “Stalking Jack the Ripper- Kerri Maniscalco

  1. How often do you read nonfiction?

    I really enjoy it because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

