What Is Happiness?

Maybe I’m acting like a total philosopher right now, yet   I’ve been thinking about the definition of certain words lately. Total writer problem right? Right now I’m thinking about the term happiness. We all feel happy at certain moments. Hopefully we’re more happy rather than sad, yet what does happiness truly mean? Lets take a closer look shall we?

When I think about happiness it means something joyful. Maybe something incredible is happening in such a person’s life that it put them into a good mood. Maybe they got a new job, moved into a better location,  adopted a puppy, or got a tweet re-tweeted by someone famous like Howie Mandel( and that totally happen once). That at least gets me feeling good. Something so amazing happen that brings out good spirit. It puts a smile on our face. Since happiness comes from feeling good is it possible to feel happy while doing something wrong? Of course I’ll answer with no, yet there are some who seem to experience joy by causing others pain and misery. It’s morbid to say, yet kind of true. I guess happiness is a more complicated topic than I thought?

This leads me to another question. Is happiness important to every day life? Without a doubt I believe happiness is vital for every day life. If someone is feeling down they’ll most likely have a bad day. If we’re happy, even in the worst day ever, we can still manage to have a successful day. Happiness should lead to positive mojo, so how do we reach the goal of happiness if our world is falling down all around us?

The other day I found a bookmark that had been missing for a long time. Frankly I forgot even having this bookmark. Anyways this bookmark has Psalm 23 on the front. The back of this bookmark has a warm message from my now deceased grandmother. i feel as if God was sending me a message of how to have happiness. This verse is encouraging and to know that my grandmother once gave me this brings me joy.

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside still waters,
    he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
    for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk
    through the darkest valley,[a]
I will fear no evil,
    for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
    they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows.
Surely your goodness and love will follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
    forever.

Psalm 23 spreads happiness from beginning to end. The Lord knows we will have days of trouble. Satan thirst over our weakness’s. We may believe that we’re lacking, yet God reminds us constantly that we’re well. We must find happiness, because happiness is important. Happiness brings us an energy Red Bull does not give. Books are one item which brings me happiness. My friends definitely bring me happiness. Happiness is a substantial positive.   Since it’s the week of Thanksgiving, we should give thanks to God for every blessing. Don’t worry, be happy!

Leave a Reply

