Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Book Review

So it has been a while since my  last review of the novels from the Harry Potter series. A few months ago I got an idea to review each Harry Potter book after reading them. That seem like such an awesome plan when I first thought  of it. A lot of time has passed since my review of Prisonar of Askaban, so I’m exetemely sorry to those who have been waiting patiently.  It can take me a couple months to read books with 500 pages or more. It takes me even more time when I’m reading a few other books at the same time. Harry Potter should be read solo, yet   I’ve  finally re-read Goblet of Fire, so here is my review for the 4th installment.

 

Goblet of Fire has always been my favorite Harry Potter novel.  The first three Harry Potter novels are geared more toward children.  I realize that Harry Potter is a children’series, yet Goblet of Fire is where the story tends to gear more toward teenagers likewise to the novels ahead in the series. This was a brilliant move by JK Rowling since her audience was older by then.  In Goblet of Fire Harry is now 14 years old.  His childhood is moving along nicely. He had been through so much guilt and pain  already that you’re hoping something good comes along for him.  A trip to the Quiddtech World Cup was pretty nice.

At Hogwarts Harry battles his unwanted popularity while trying to survive in the Triwizard Tournament. They should have taken Harry Potter out of the championships list, but we wouldn’t have a story then would we? He argues with Ron a lot in this book. Hermione shows some signs of vanity with getting her teeth fixed and going to the Yule Ball all glamorous. The kids are growing up fast.  Hermione also stands up for the enslaved house elves. I wish Winky were in the films. It irks me that the professor Moody in Goblet of Fire was actually an imposter. So not cool. The most pivotal part of Goblet of Fire is when lord Voldemort returns to the flesh.

Before his return all we had were clues about what type of villain  he was. With the way Voldemort is described I think of him as the devil. He has facial features of a serpent. The dude literally has no nose. The man had been missing for years, yet they feared his name so much. The way he returns into the story is very chilling. He had Cedric Diggory[ or that Edward glowing vampire guy from Twilight] killed without any remorse. We figure out that it was the love from Harry’s mum that kept him safe from Voldemort’s curse.  When Voldemort returns a darkness starts to consume the Wizarding World which becomes a huge problem for Harry and his friends.

 

What are your thoughts on Goblet of Fire? Did U enjoy the book and film as much as I did? Let me know in the comment section below.

 

 

Leave a Reply

